Boarding in Thailand
Boarding schools in Thailand — true total cost
Tuition is only half the boarding bill. This page puts day tuition and published boarding charges side by side for the 18 schools whose boarding rates we captured from their own schedules (October 2026), then explains how to judge boarding well.
Totals
Tuition + boarding: the total year cost
Total = the school's published day-tuition range plus its published boarding charge (the lowest boarding band against the lowest tuition band). Boarding figures are school-supplied, quoted with their basis; where a school publishes per-term or per-semester prices, the annualised figure and its arithmetic are stated. Full methodology: how we verify.
| School | Day tuition / yr | Boarding (as published) | Total from / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| King Mongkut's International Demonstration School (KMIDS) Bangkok | ฿483,000 – ฿504,000 / year [O] | Dormitory fee ฿120,000 for 10 months, incl. accommodation, activities, laundry, transport, breakfast and dinner As published, for academic year 2024–25 (the year the school states) | ฿603,000 – ฿624,000 / yr |
| Bloomsbury International School Hatyai (BISH) Songkhla · Year 3 to Year 13 (boarding tables) | ฿288,200 – ฿342,200 / year [O] | Full boarding ฿187,500–208,500/yr by age and gender · weekly ฿131,600–144,600/yr As published per year (school's 2024/25 PDF — the latest it publishes) | ฿475,700 – ฿550,700 / yr |
| Rugby School Thailand Chonburi · from age 10 (fees page: 'flexible boarding options from the age of 10') · Age 10-18 (boarding band on fees page) | ฿345,000 – ฿999,000 / year [O] | Boarding ฿285,000–494,000/yr (age 10–18 band; full/weekly split in the school's Fee Booklet) As published per year | ฿630,000 – ฿1,493,000 / yr |
| Regent's International School Bangkok — Rama 9 (+ Langsuan early years) Bangkok · from age 8 · from Year 5 | ฿445,500 – ฿780,000 / year [O] | Boarding ฿335,370/yr (Years 5–6) – ฿392,070/yr (Year 7+), plus personal expenses ฿90,000/yr As published per year | ฿780,870 – ฿1,172,070 / yr |
| Bromsgrove International School Thailand Bangkok | ฿259,100 – ฿680,100 / year [A] | Weekly boarding ฿135,950 / ฿110,250 / ฿90,050 for Terms 1/2/3 · daily boarding ฿2,300/night Weekly boarding annualised as the sum of the three published term fees; the full-boarding row was not cleanly extractable from the schedule | ฿595,350 – ฿1,016,350 / yr |
| American Pacific International School (APIS) Chiang Mai · Boarding shown for G5-G12 in Main Campus fee structure | ฿250,650 – ฿524,800 / year [O] | Full board ฿337,800–375,500/yr by grade · weekly board ฿267,800–305,500/yr (Main Campus, G5–G12) As published per year (2026–27) | ฿588,450 – ฿900,300 / yr |
| Garden International School Bangkok Bangkok | Not disclosed [NV] | Full boarding ฿115,000 per term (Years 5–10, 7 days) · weekly ฿99,000 per term Annualised: per-term figure × 3 terms | — (see note) |
| Traill International School Bangkok · Year 9 and above | ฿408,300 – ฿615,150 / year [O] | Boarding ฿120,000 per term, incl. accommodation, transport and meals Annualised: per-term figure × 3 terms (2026/27 schedule) | ฿768,300 – ฿975,150 / yr |
| XCL American School of Bangkok — Green Valley Campus Samut Prakan · Grades 6-12 | ฿430,000 – ฿760,000 / year [A] | Boarding ฿181,125 per semester (grades 6–12), incl. laundry, meals and homework support Annualised: per-semester figure × 2 semesters (2026/27) | ฿792,250 – ฿1,122,250 / yr |
| Regents International School Pattaya Chonburi · boarding for learners aged eight and above · Years 3-13 | ฿440,800 – ฿854,050 / year [O] | Full boarding ฿424,650/yr (Years 3–13), incl. meals, weekend trips, activities and laundry As published per year | ฿865,450 – ฿1,278,700 / yr |
| British International School, Phuket (BISP) Phuket · Boarding shown from Year 4 in fee table | ฿489,000 – ฿982,700 / year [O] | Full boarding ฿473,550/yr (Y4–6) – ฿509,300/yr (Y7–13) · weekly ฿396,400–457,800/yr As published per year (2026–27) | ฿962,550 – ฿1,492,000 / yr |
| Prem Tinsulanonda International School (Prem/PTIS) Chiang Mai · Full, weekly and flexi boarding offered (boarding page); no minimum grade stated on pages checked | ฿416,000 – ฿814,000 / year [O] | Full boarding ฿478,000/yr · weekly boarding ฿350,000/yr · temporary boarding ฿2,250/day As published per year (AY2026–27 schedule) | ฿894,000 – ฿1,292,000 / yr |
| Ruamrudee International School (RIS) Bangkok | ฿599,000 / year [A] | Full boarding ฿485,000/yr · weekly boarding ฿327,600/yr As published per year (2025/26 schedule) | ฿1,084,000 – ฿1,084,000 / yr |
| Wycombe Abbey International School Bangkok Samut Prakan | ฿701,800 – ฿1,276,000 / year [O] | Full boarding ฿550,000/yr · weekly boarding ฿438,000/yr · flexi boarding ฿2,400/day As published per year | ฿1,251,800 – ฿1,826,000 / yr |
| Harrow International School Bangkok Bangkok | ฿146,300 – ฿1,063,000 / year [O] | Full boarding ฿571,100/yr · weekly boarding ฿456,700/yr As published per year (2026/27) | ฿717,400 – ฿1,634,100 / yr |
| UWC Thailand International School Phuket | ฿345,000 – ฿933,000 / year [O] | Boarding service ฿653,000/yr (single figure in the school's fee PDF) As published per year (2026/27) | ฿998,000 – ฿1,586,000 / yr |
| Saint John Mary International School Saraburi | Not disclosed [NV] | The school's schedule separates boarding one-offs (registration ฿70,000 vs ฿50,000 day; deposit ฿25,000 vs ฿15,000) but no standalone boarding rate No separated boarding rate published in the extracted schedule | — (see note) |
| Regents International School — Langsuan (early years) + Rama 9 above Bangkok | ฿400,200 – ฿698,940 / year [O] | Historic schedule only: ฿89,400/term (Y4–6), ฿103,900/term (Y7+) Historic — NOT current; excluded from totals | — (see note) |
One-off enrolment charges, deposits and personal-expenses allowances are additional where a school charges them — see each school's fees page. Schools whose schedules separate no boarding rate, or publish only a historic schedule, are shown without a computed total rather than with a guessed one.
Judgement
The boarding decision guide
Who boarding suits
Boarding works best for children who are ready for structured independence — usually from around age 10–13, though schools here take boarders from Year 3 — and for families whose alternative is a very long daily commute, frequent relocation, or parents based outside Thailand. It suits children who thrive on routine, team sport and a full activity programme. It is a harder fit for children who are still settling after a big move, or who need intensive daily parental support for learning or health needs — ask honestly how the school handles both before deciding.
What to inspect on a visit
- The boarding house at night, not just on open day: visit at prep time or bedtime if the school allows it — staffing ratios and atmosphere differ from the tour version.
- Who is actually on duty: house parents' experience, overnight cover, and what happens when a child is ill at 2 a.m. (infirmary, hospital transfer, who calls you).
- Rooms and privacy: dorm size by age, study space, secure storage, phone/device policy by year group.
- Food: eat the boarder's dinner if you can; check weekend catering specifically — it is where standards slip.
- Weekends: how many boarders stay in on a normal weekend, what is organised, and how exeats (weekends away) work.
Pastoral-care questions to ask any boarding school
- Who is my child's named house parent / tutor, and how often will we hear from them?
- How are homesickness and bullying handled in the first term — what is the actual protocol?
- What safeguarding training do boarding staff hold, and who is the designated safeguarding lead?
- How do boarders contact home, and what is the school's device policy at night?
- What medical cover is included in the boarding fee, and what is charged extra?
- For weekly boarders: what are the exact arrival/departure windows, and what happens on public-holiday weekends?
Boarding types, plainly
Full boarding — seven nights a week in term; the standard for students whose families live abroad. Weekly boarding — school nights only, home at weekends; common in Bangkok, where many families live in the city but face long commutes. Flexi / temporary boarding — individual nights as needed, charged per night (published examples here run ฿2,250–2,400/night); useful for exam periods, late fixtures and parents' travel.
Directory
All boarding schools in the directory (20)
Regent's International School Bangkok — Rama 9 (+ Langsuan early years)
Singapore International School of Bangkok — SISB Pracha Uthit
KIS International School Reignwood Park
XCL American School of Bangkok — Green Valley Campus
Wycombe Abbey International School Bangkok
Prem Tinsulanonda International School (Prem/PTIS)
American Pacific International School (APIS)
Manorom International Christian School
St Stephen's International School — Khao Yai
Rugby School Thailand
Regents International School Pattaya
Garden International School, Eastern Seaboard
Highgate International School Thailand
British International School, Phuket (BISP)
UWC Thailand International School
PanyaDee / PBISS — Panyadee British International School of Samui
Adventist International Mission School (AIMS)
California Prep International School
Bromsgrove International School Thailand
Questions
Boarding FAQ
How much does boarding add to tuition in Thailand?
At the schools that publish boarding rates, roughly ฿120,000–653,000 a year on top of day tuition (official schedules captured in our October 2026 pass). Full boarding at the large British-style boarding schools clusters around ฿425,000–570,000 a year.
What is the difference between full, weekly and flexi boarding?
Full boarding is seven nights a week through term. Weekly boarding is school nights only (typically five nights), with weekends at home. Flexi boarding is ad-hoc nights — for late activities, exams or family travel — usually charged per night.
From what age do Thai international schools take boarders?
It varies: Regents Pattaya and Bloomsbury Hatyai publish boarding from Year 3 (around age 7–8), Regent's Bangkok from age 8 / Year 5, Rugby from age 10. Most schools publish their minimum age and boarding grades on their boarding pages; our table shows what each school states.
Are boarding fees on CredRadar verified?
The boarding figures in the table above are school-supplied: captured from each school's own published schedule in October 2026 and quoted with their basis (per year, per term or per semester). Where a figure is annualised from a per-term price, the table says so and shows the arithmetic.



















